Previewing files and folders on Ubuntu 11.04 with Gloobus Preview

13/10/2011 at 6:42 pm Plaats een reactie

This article applies to Ubuntu 11.04 64 bit edition

With a 450 GB hard drive on my Toshiba Satellite L670-1DT, disk space is barely an issue. That is why, these last months, I stuffed the hard drive with anything that could be of use for my work…and stuffed,  almost anywhere, not paying too much attention to where I put it, as long as it ended somewhere on my home directory. Knowing my way around to find files and folders, finding the files that I needed was not too much of an issue. However, this needed to be improved…I wanted a way to preview my folders and my files, without opening the directories or the files. Googling (or for that matter, Duck-Duck-Going) a bit around, I found a tremendous application: Gloobus. Gloobus allows to preview folder and file content on a Linux desktop without really opening the folder or the file.

Gloobus Preview allows you to view files and folders without realy opening them

Preview Folder with Gloobus

preview file with gloobus preview

preview file with Gloobus

This is how I installed it on my Toshiba Satellite L670-1DT with Ubuntu 11.04.

1 – in a terminal, I added a repository: sudo add-apt-repository ppa:elementaryart/elementarydesktop. A trusted key was imported automatically.
2 – sudo apt-get update and sudo apt-get upgrade were done to update the installation sources, and to check whether any software needed to be upgraded before installing the Gloobus software
3 – then I installed gloobus: sudo apt-get install gloobus-preview

And I restarted the Ubuntu file manager from the terminal: nautilus -q

Well, the result was just astonishing. Selecting a file or a folder, and pressing space bar produced exactly the effect I wanted: a preview of a folder or file without opening it.

Check it out, it’s really worth the try! Oh and by the way, it also works on older versions with less quality video cards. Tested working also on Ubuntu 9.10 with the famous Brookdale chipset… (see other posts here…). The commands to install the software on Ubuntu 9.10 are just a bit different (other repositories to define):

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:gloobus-dev/gloobus-preview
  sudo apt-get update
  sudo apt-get install gloobus-preview
  nautilus -q

Have fun!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Playing encrypted DVDs on Ubuntu 11.04 with Totem media Player A couple of tips on how to recover from a failed Ubuntu upgrade

Geef een reactie

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Posted previously


