Ubuntu 9.10 with VGA Intel 82845G/GLBrookdale-G/GE

27/03/2010 at 10:34 am 12 reacties

Problem with Ubuntu and Brookdale video chipset? Maybe it’s interesting to read this blog entry also: https://janvandevoort.wordpress.com/2010/07/11/linux-mint-isadora/

This article applies to Ubuntu 9.10, not to Ubuntu 10.04 (Lucid Lynx)

Do not attempt to apply the steps described in this article to Ubuntu 10.04 (Lucid Lynx), the steps will quite simply not succeed

There are quite some articles on the Internet about Ubuntu 9.10 and the Intel 82845G/GL video controller not working smoothly together. Indeed, without the xorg.conf file (which is located in /etc/X11), and without the proper driver version,  an Ubuntu 9.10  machine with that specific video controller will work, but it will quite often suffer hangups. With a static xorg.conf file in the /etc/X11/ directory however, and with the video section (in italic) as shown beneath, and with Intel video driver 2.4 … I  myself have had no problems at all on my Ubuntu 9.10 machine. According to the Ubuntu wiki, there are quite some more 9.10 machines with that controller that work smoothly with the Intel 2.4 driver. Maybe it’s just a speed issue – and using an older driver for older hardware solves the speed problem.  If you want to try the solution, check it out yourself, and leave your results  as a comment.  The only thing I had to do after applying the Intel 2.4 video driver was to restart the machine because of a black screen, just after applying the driver version. After applying the patch, I commented the extra lines (deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/siretart/ppa/ubuntu jaunty main and  deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/siretart/ppa/ubuntu jaunty main) in /etc/at/sources.list, since the only thing I needed was the 2.4 video drivers. Ever since, I  have been using this configuration  without one hangup. I have been able to change user back and forth, etcetera, everything just works fine. The only things that do not work on my machine with this configuration are hibernation and pausing the machine. Nor am I able to use fancy Desktop Effects, but that’s just due to the limitations of the chip itself.

Here is my working xorg.conf file:

Section “Device”

Identifier   “Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device”
Driver      “intel”
BusID      “PCI:0:2:0”

EndSection

Section “Monitor”
Identifier    “Configured Monitor”
EndSection

Section “Screen”
Identifier    “Default Screen”
Monitor        “Configured Monitor”
Device        “Configured Video Device”
EndSection

You can check the PCI id of your controller with the terminal command:

lspci | grep VGA

the first section shows the PCI id:

lspci | grep VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device (rev 01)

Here is my kernel version:

Linux  2.6.31-20-generic #58-Ubuntu SMP Fri Mar 12 05:23:09 UTC 2010 i686 GNU/Linux

…and a quick printscreen of the controller and the screen resolution…

graphics intel brookdale

graphics intel brookdale

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Starting Ubuntu remote applications with encryption, seamlessly and without any terminal command involved Tabbing and browsing your way through Ubuntu applications

12 reacties Add your own

  • 1. Chris  |  21/05/2010 om 7:21 pm

    Jan
    (running 9.04) This looks like well thought out advice, and I have successfully installed the older driver. When I change xorg.conf as you suggest, I get a panel with the heading “Ubuntu is running in low-graphics mode” followed by several lines of text including “Unable to open dev/agpgart no such file…” There is no such file.
    dankjewel
    Chris

    Beantwoorden
    • 2. Jan van de Voort  |  22/05/2010 om 7:49 am

      Hello Chris,
      Seems like the solution is not working for you. Correct me if I’m wrong, but you seem to mention that you use Ubuntu 9.04, not 9.10.
      I have two machines with the Brookdale chipset: one with Ubuntu 9.10, one with Ubuntu 9.04. For myself, the problems with this video controller began on the 9.10 machine, just after installing 9.10 on it (fresh installation). As for the Ubuntu 9.04 machine (fresh install as well), I never had any problems with it, it worked fine from the beginning, and I will leave the machine at that version. It is on purpuse that I mention the Ubuntu version in the article: it is really and only intended for Ubuntu 9.10, not 9.04, nor 10.04. To fix a broken xorg.conf file, you should run dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg. You cand find an excellent step-by-step at: http://www.freesoftwaremagazine.com/columns/how_to_fix_your_computers_graphics_with_dpkg-reconfigure If that doesn’t fix your problem, I can check for you the driver version, the xorg.conf and the kernel version on the 9.04 machine, maybe it will help you out 😉 Best regards, Jan

      Beantwoorden
      • 3. Chris  |  22/05/2010 om 3:47 pm

        Jan
        The program didn’t work for me – no screen options, it just asks lots of questions about keyboards which it doesn’t allow you to answer!

        I’d better give you some background detail. I was on 9.04 which was working fine, then I moved on to 10.04 but the screen kept crashing, I was told to boot into safe mode to do some tests but couldn’t see how to do that, so re-installed 9.04 so I could. After that both 9.04 run ok from the CDs but go into low graphics mode when installed. The only thing that works is to put “driver vesa” in xorg.conf, but this only allows a maximum of 800×600 screen. I think 10.04 can manage without xorg.conf, if I remove it, the screen error message states that
        “EE GARTinit unable to open dev/agpart – no such file or directory”

        I get an error on boot which may or may not be relevant:
        “udevd inotify add watch failed bad address”
        and I have also seen this – but not recently:
        “lib/modules/2.6.32-22/generic/modules.dep”
        Chris

  • 4. Jan van de Voort  |  23/05/2010 om 7:23 am

    Chris,
    I doubt if the Intel 82845G is really still supported in Ubuntu 10.04. If I were you, with that video controller, I would stick to Ubuntu 9.04 or 9.10 (with the video procdure as described). As for your Ubuntu 9.04 screen resolution problem: I can check for you which intel video driver version I use on the 9.04 machine, that really should work, and allow you to have a better resolution. For my 9.04 machine, I have a resolution of 1024 x 768.
    Jan

    Beantwoorden
  • 5. Chris  |  23/05/2010 om 4:50 pm

    Originally high resolutions worked on 9.04 and 10.04 – 1024×768, 1152×864, 1360×768, the only problem was the screen freezing in 1024×768 on 10.04. Since following the advice from another website to try to fix the freezing, the best resolution I can get is vesa 800×600! I’d appreciate it if you would I check for me which intel video driver version you use on your 9.04 machine, and let me see a copy of the relevant bits of xorg.conf on that machine.

    This is the result of lspci -nn | grep VGA

    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device [8086:2562] (rev 01)

    Beantwoorden
  • 6. Jan van de Voort  |  24/05/2010 om 10:00 am

    Hello Chris, here is as much info as I can gather from my 9.04 machine, no problems whatsoever with that machine and this configuration, please see under the ***

    Regards,

    Jan

    ***

    lspci | grep VGA
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation
    82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device (rev 01)

    **********

    Section “Device”
    Identifier “Configured Video Device”
    Driver “intel”
    EndSection

    Section “Monitor”
    Identifier “Configured Monitor”
    EndSection

    Section “Screen”
    Identifier “Default Screen”
    Monitor “Configured Monitor”
    Device “Configured Video Device”
    EndSection

    ***********
    x.org server:

    X.Org X Server 1.6.0
    Release Date: 2009-2-25
    X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
    Build Operating System: Linux 2.6.24-25-server i686 Ubuntu
    Current Operating System: Linux 2.6.28-18-generic #60-Ubuntu SMP Fri Mar
    12 04:40:52 UTC 2010 i686

    **********

    video driver: xserver-xorg-video-intel v 2:2.6.3-0ubuntu9.3 (found in
    synaptic)

    I can see, in the xorg log, that is is the driver that is actually
    loaded succesfully at boot.

    Beantwoorden
  • 7. Chris  |  24/05/2010 om 2:08 pm

    Jan
    I have found out what the problem is in 9.04 – it is nothing to do with the screen. I checked the meaning of an error I was seeing on startup which I mentioned above – “Could not load lib/modules/2.6.32-22/generic/modules.dep” and this does not exist on disk, only one directory exists, although when I press [esc] in bootup I can see several options.
    I imagine that when I accept the default at startup it can’t find the version it wants which causes several problems.
    So it is working now. I’ll forget about 10.04 until I have to.
    There is a lesson there for me – never ignore error messages!
    Chris

    Beantwoorden
  • 8. Jan van de Voort  |  24/05/2010 om 4:25 pm

    Sounds like you solved your problem! I guess your GRUB config file is populated with some extra Ubuntu versions, and that the default is a non-existent (or not well installed) one. Anyway, you have a working system, and that’s the most important of alll. Great, greetings from the Netherlands, Jan

    Beantwoorden
  • 9. Randal Kurtz  |  30/05/2010 om 6:36 pm

    Super awesome post. Honestly.

    Beantwoorden
    • 10. Jan van de Voort  |  31/05/2010 om 6:21 pm

      Glad to have been of service 😉 Jan

      Beantwoorden
  • 11. Tim  |  17/06/2010 om 12:27 pm

    I’ve got the same Brookdale video card and I’ve been using Ubuntu since 6.10. I’ve found that switching over to Linux Mint has, for reasons I don’t understand, solved my video problems. Mint is based on the current Ubuntu release.

    I think Ibex, (8.10) wouldn’t even boot and other versions gave me freezing screens, but the Mint version was completely different and worked fine. I’m guessing that Mint must configure something differently that affects my video card because it works for me much better than Ubuntu.

    I’m currently using Mint 8 (equivalent to Ubuntu 9.10) and haven’t had any problems relating to my video card and with Mint I still have access to all the Ubuntu repositories.

    Beantwoorden
  • 12. Chris  |  08/11/2010 om 7:58 pm

    This is now solved (sort-of) as although I gave up on 10.04, I have installed Ubuntu 10.10 successfully, although there were a couple of file access problems to fix and I had to reselect the display. I’ve no idea whether they might have caused the original 10.04 problem…

    Dank je wel Jan

    Chris

    Beantwoorden

Geef een reactie

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Posted previously


